Final modelling assignment

on

Game Ready

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

For my game ready model I decided to recreate Whis’ staff from dragon ball super this involved the use of the extrude, smooth, move and scale tools. To create the point and large ridge at the top I extruded the top and bottom to give me extra geometry to deal with. I then changed from object view to vertex view then manipulating them with the use of the move and scale tools to get to the required widths. To then finish off the main part of the staff I used to smooth tool as to not massively increase my poly count but still give it a nice finish. The ball and ring floating at the top were simple to create as the ball is simply the ball primitive same for the ring but ring was made bigger and extra edgeloops were inserted in the middle to be able to give enough space for the ball to fit in the middle as it does in the show. When it came to UVing the models it was quite simple for the ball and ring as they were simple shapes but the main pole part of the staff it self proved to be a tad bit more awkward as I had to use tools other than simply move and sew such as the cut UV edges tool so I could split up the body and make it easier to texture rather than one long uv I could texture separate smaller ones. The actual texturing process of the staff was easy as it used very simple and basic colors which could be easily done with just the brushes no external images had to be imported this however did lead to some interesting end results as there was a bleed effect on the main body of the bottom of the blue mixing with the yellow. This was not the intended idea but I decided to keep it as I thought it looked quite nice as well as the staffs not all being the same and uniformly colored. For the lighting I used a directional light and 2 spot lights at varying intensities to create a shimmer round the ring and at the top of the staff giving it an almost magical looking effect. To render the image I created a camera and set it at the desired angle as well as making sure that it was set to render with mentalray instead of the default maya rendering software. The image was rendered in 4k with max settings just to see how it turned out render time took about 7minutes but with settings that high results were obviously great ad I was happy with how it turned out.

Film ready

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

For the pillow I started out with a simple cube added extra polygon faces then using the scale tool to make it the desired size. The very top and very bottom face of the side of the model were then selected and extruded to make the piping on the side of the pillow, after this the model was then turned into an Ncloth and set to inflate so it would gain volume and look like an actual pillow. When I would press play to cause the pillow to inflate it would fall down due to gravity being turned on so I had to turn this off in the nucleus1 settings. Once the desired volume was found I would then pause it, delete the edit history and then freeze the transformation so it would stay as is. The edges for the piping were then reselected and extruded as they had lost their definition when made to inflate. UVing the model was simple though since I needed the piping separate from the main bulk of the cushion itself I need to select and cut the UV edges that were associated with them. As it was one texture for the entire model I didn’t need to take it unto photoshop it was all done in Maya be simply assigning a material (for this I used lambert) then selecting file and adding the black cloth texture then adjusting the UV itself to make it look correct. Lighting and rendering were the same as before but this time I used two directional lights and one spot light the front light was given a slightly yellow hint to help the cushion show up a lot better.

Leave a comment